Weekend Recap

This weekend was another one for the books.

On Friday, we enjoyed some seriously choice pizza from Domino’s (their hand-tossed crust is so unbelievably good!) and family time.  Loved it.

 

Saturday, Connor set Micah’s crib up. I almost cried when I walked into the boys’ nursery. It is the sweetest thing to see the two cribs next to each other and to feel the general coziness of the room. I can’t wait to have Micah here. Connor and I both are so giddy to add this little boy to our family. And since I am officially 37 weeks, he can come AAAAnnytime! We’re ready for you buddy!!

IMG_1050

Saturday evening was a different story.

Noah has been pretty sick. On Thursday, he had an all-body rash, fever, and sore throat. I took him to his pediatrician that day (I am definitely not one of those people who wait to “see how things go.” I will jump immediately on anything strange and scoot us all to the doctor. #notashamed) and she said it was probably just viral, but if his throat got worse or the rash turned to blisters, to bring him back in.

IMG_1051

By Saturday afternoon I had a little boy so miserable I didn’t know what to do. He was bawling his eyes out at everything. He would run into my lap to lay his head on my shoulder for a few seconds to cry and then run off again (aaannd repeat every 30 seconds). But the rash hadn’t gotten any worse and his throat seemed the same to me. That evening though, I heard from a friend we had had a play date with earlier that week, that her sweet girl had strep. So after a few moments of overwhelmed mommy-blubber to my husband about what to do, he put us all in the car (around 6:30pm )and drove us to an urgent care facility. I’m so thankful for a husband who can make decisions when I can’t.  When we got back in the car at 8:30 pm, we knew that Noah did NOT have strep but he certainly had hand foot and mouth. Poor poor baby. :( It was a long night. But, shoot, it had been a long week, so no big deal.

But guys. After waking up at 5 a.m. yesterday morning, having a little snack and falling back asleep at 5:30…HE SLEPT UNTIL 10:30!!!!!!! Unreal. UNREAL. I woke up at 10, completely disoriented. But after sprinting to Noah’s room and seeing a peacefully  sleeping babe I fell back into bed with the biggest smile on my face. God knew I needed to sleep. I NEEEDED to sleep.

The rest of Sunday was dreamy…mostly. Noah was obviously feeling much better and so was mommy. After he got back from church, Connor made a few comments about being a little tired and achy but we didn’t think much of it. Until 4:30pm, that is. I walked into our (un-air conditioned) living room to see my husband wrapped in a blanket. Weird. So I took his temperature. It was 100 degrees. I immediately gave him Tylenol but every half hour his temperature had jumped another degree. By 6:30 it was 104. I was absolutely panicking. Thankfully, Noah had been exhausted from such a busy day and went down at 6. After three Ibuprofen and a lot of desperate prayer, the fever finally started to go down. By 9pm he was back to his normal self. But gosh. That scared me. We still don’t know why that happened or whether the fever will come back…

We will see how today goes. Prayers would be so appreciated. Two sick boys and a preggo wife make for quite the scene.

One thought on “Weekend Recap

Tell me what you think...

