A baby belly and a teething toddler

Photo on 8-12-14 at 5.16 PM1

This is literally how we spent the later part of our afternoon yesterday. I found out right after a particularly difficult breakfast, that Noah was pushing at least two molars through. Ouch.

He was a little trooper during an early playdate, but when we got home he let me know – he was in PAIN. Chewing on frozen washcloths just made him cry and tylenol did not seem to be making a dent in it. All he wanted was to be held.

So instead of vacuuming the floor (that really needed it), like I had told myself I would do that day, I sat down on the couch and I cuddled with my sweet boy.

If you know Noah, then you KNOW. This boy does not sit still. He is a steamroller of activity, almost constantly. So having uninterrupted time where he just wanted to be on my lap, was heaven for this mommy.

And it was extra special yesterday, because at 36 weeks pregnant, I had both of my little boys squished on my lap. Seeing Noah’s little hands wrapped around his brother’s home was precious. Then, when Noah snuggled in even more and rested his head next to where Micah had been kicking all day, my heart swelled to bursting.

How did I get so blessed?

I am so thankful for quiet little moments like those. Because parenting is hard. Hard, people! But it is the greatest gift I have ever been given, and moments like that bring everything into focus.

Tell me what you think...

