Community Brew | He will provide

9e591-community-brew-post

I really enjoyed reading Madison’s opening words to this installment of the Community Brew link-up.

God DOES do big things. Absolutely. And I seek his provision daily and earnestly.

But Madison asked, was I seeking God with “open hands?”

Nope. Big negatory on that one.

I am a close-fisted seeker. What I have, I want to keep and have no intention of letting go.

I am devastated when He “takes” something away from me. Like a child. However, one of the the verses Madison shared got right to the heart of my emotional immaturity.

 

For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord.
For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.
Isaiah 55:8-9
 
 

God is not cruel. He is greater. Greater than me, greater than circumstance, greater than all things. He can see beyond. When He comes to me, and asks me to have open hands, He is not “taking” from me. He is making room. Greater room for greater things.

God has always provided for me. He has given me all I need and more. I have absolutely no reason not to trust Him when He asks for some things back. I should know better. Because HE knows better.

My greatest obstacle to seeking Christ with open hands is money. One of the subjects God is SO specific about in the Bible. Men and women who give their last pennies to God, without looking back, are praised and always provided for. Men and women who hoard their money are passed over and punished (Ananais and Sapphira, anyone?). That knowledge should be plenty motivating for me and yet, when it comes time to tithe I struggle. When I see someone sitting on a street corner, asking for help, I struggle. When I am asked to support a child in Africa, I struggle.

I have PLENTY of things I need to use my money on. “God-money” comes out last (and, as a result, usually has a $0 balance).

How unbelievably backwards and selfish is that?!?

“For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they?”

Matthew 6: 25-26

 

Thank you Madison, for such eye-opening words!!

 

Linking up with Madison and Rachel. Thank you, ladies!

 

9 thoughts on “Community Brew | He will provide

  1. My heart resonates so well with how you are feeling. So many times, I ask God to use me but how can He if my fists are clenched so tightly? It’s good to know that I am not alone in this & that God is loving and gracious to help us loosen our grip and trust Him!! Blessings, friend! Beautiful blog, btw!

    -Katie
    Hot Tea and the Empty Seat

  2. I really enjoyed this post! Living with open hands can be so tough, can’t it? I wrote about how God really spoke to my heart about tithing and His amazing response recently on my blog at http://praylivecreate.com/2014/04/28/why-i-tithe-my-malachi-310-moment/ It really taught me that God is soooo good and will provide! I’m a firm advocate of tithing now because I know that God will always provide and giving back to Him just a small portion of what He’s given me will have much mightier results than anything I could do with that 10%. But I’ve been asking my small group to pray for generosity in my life in other ways: sacrificial giving, generosity with my time and talents, generosity with my possessions. I’ve noticed that as I’ve become focused on paying off student loans and making a home other areas of generosity in my life have disappeared. I want to make sure that I live open handed and not close fisted. Thanks for this post!

    • Yes! I loved reading your post. God is so incredible. And so faithful. We have no reason to ever doubt he will provide. Reading stories like yours that show physical evidence of God blessing those of us who give are such a great reminder to me. How amazing that your raise was exactly the amount you pledged to the church! Awesome.

  3. I think most people in America would agree with you that it is very difficult to be open handed with our money. I’ve seen this past year how when I am generous, that other people will be generous and God will provide for our needs. It’s a beautiful thing.

    • Absolutely. And I would agree, a lot of people are close-fisted with their money. Which makes the generous people in my life so life-changing and eye-opening! Thanks for stopping by and commenting!!

  4. Amen girl! It’s really difficult to be open-handed with “my” thing….especially money. I really enjoyed Madison’s post today as well as yours! We’ll get there, one step at a time. ;)

  5. Kathryn, thank you SO much for linking up with us! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to comment. I’m so encouraged hearing your thoughts on this topic. Having open hands is really a challenge and it’s something we all have to work towards being better at. Money is definitely difficult. In our culture it’s easy to feel like we deserve what we “earn” but we lose sight that it all belongs to God!

Tell me what you think...

