Mini Cherry Pies

Over the fourth of July we were invited to a barbecue with friends and family. I LOVE barbecues. LOVE. But I always struggle to find the perfect side dish to bring along. I either accidentally end up bringing a duplicate of someone else’s dish or completely fail at whatever original recipe I think would be delightful.

This time though, I think  I nailed it. Their quick disappearance after I set them on the table tipped me off. :)

Mini Cherry Pies

IMG_2594

They are SO easy!  Start with pie crust. You can make your own from scratch, if you’re fancy like that. I just used Jiffy’s pie crust mix.

IMG_2553

Mix it up and roll it out. You’ll need two boxes for a 12 cup muffin tin.

IMG_2556

Cut the dough into circles that will cover the bottom of a muffin cup. I used a large mason jar as my guide.

Lay the pie crust at the bottom of each greased muffin cup. Then, spoon cherry pie filling (or whatever fruit filling strikes your fancy) into the cups. You’ll want at least four cherries in each mini pie. Maybe more.

IMG_2554

Use the rest of you dough to cut circles for the top of the pie crust. I tried to cut them into fancy designs. But I’m not fancy, so, you know. They turned out like this.

IMG_2557

After covering all of your little pies, brush the tops with a beaten egg. Pop it into the oven and bake according to instructions on the Jiffy box. Mine were done a few minutes early, so keep and eye on them towards the end.

IMG_2559

Those delicious mini pies just need to cool for a few minutes and they should pop right out and into your serving dish.

Enjoyyyyy!

3 thoughts on “Mini Cherry Pies

Tell me what you think...

