Becoming a SAHM…and why it’s harder than I thought it would be

We are officially settled into our new home. We live in a cute and quiet condo close to the mountains. We absolutely LOVE the location. We are 10 minutes from the zoo, Garden of the Gods, and all sorts of hikes. It’s wonderful.

20140707-210703-76023721.jpg

We do not, however, have air conditioning. And last night I was downstairs on the couch until 4 a.m. because it was so unbearably hot in our room upstairs. So miserable. I’m sure I won’t even notice come September 7, when I no longer have a little heater in my belly. A window air conditioner may be in our future. Out of absolute necessity. ;)

20140707-210703-76023327.jpg

The biggest transition for me has been transitioning into a stay-at-home mom. I worked full-time in South Dakota. I was gone from 8-5 every week day since he was 3 months old. It broke my heart, because all I have wanted to do for years, is be a home maker and a mother. So when it became clear after Noah was born that it was best for our family if I worked during that time, I was fairly devastated. BUT, I surprised myself. I actually liked going to work. I liked taking a shower every morning and putting on nice clothes. I liked getting out of the house when stress was high from a sleepless night. It still broke my heart to leave him (although it was easier because I was able to leave him with my mother almost every day), but I liked having a purpose outside of the house.

Now, my job is my home. And it is a lot harder than I expected it to be. It is difficult to know, at the end of the day, whether I have done my job well. Did I do the laundry to completion? Did I vacuum all the crumbs? Did I sweep the kitchen? Did I play with my son? Did I give him intellectual stimulation? Did I give him balanced meals throughout the day? Did I show him how much I love him? Did I welcome my husband into a peaceful home? Did I prepareΒ a dinner that filled him? Did I soak in the time we had that evening as a family? Did I appreciate my husband enough?

Most days I don’t know the answers.

But that’s okay.

What I do know, is that I am so thankful for the chance to pour into my son and husband. I am thankful to serve God by maintaining the food, finances, and upkeep of my home.

20140707-210704-76024041.jpg

I’m not super talented at any aspect of homemaking. But I am excited to work my fanny off at it. Because I love that little boy and that handsome man.

20140707-210704-76024382.jpg

In other news, that little dude is now walking. And practicing his running. Oh dear. ;)

4 thoughts on “Becoming a SAHM…and why it’s harder than I thought it would be

  1. I can relate to the difficulty in transitioning to a SAHM when you’re used to having a ‘real’ job. It’s not easy but of course in the end it’s worth it :) The most important factor in your happiness as a SAHM as far as I’m concerned is a supportive and appreciative husband. And by appreciative I mean that he should not be taking what you do all day for granted, as your ‘duty’. As long as your husband appreciates you, being a SAHM isn’t all that bad :)

  2. Awm I’m glad you settled and happy in your new home. Noah looks pretty comfortable too, haha. I would love to be a SAHM some day, but I can imagine all that pressure you mentioned. Like, you have to work harder to overcome the stereotypes of not doing anything.

  3. I’ve never thought of it like that before, not knowing if I’ve done my job well at the end of the day, but that is the perfect anxiety of a SAHM. It is such a tough job, but the most rewarding. How could any reward in the workplace top the rewards you get daily/hourly from your little one with his cuddles/kisses and general happiness! You’re doing great mama xx

  4. I have been a SAHM for 10 years now. It is a hard transition. I had to learn to let a lot of things go. I cannot and will never be June Cleaver. My house won’t be perfect, the carpet won’t be vacuumed every day, I’m lucky to get the kitchen mopped once a week, but when I tuck my girls in each night I know I’m doing what’s right for my family.

    I had to learn to stop comparing myself to others. I know what works for my family and what it looks like. While we are SAHM’s together, it looks different than your family…and that is just perfect. Bless you as you continue this transition and on your coming baby.

Tell me what you think...

