Coffee Date

If we were having coffee right now, I’d be so grateful for your company. I haven’t been out of the house for anything besides work or errands for too long. I go to work in the morning, come home in the evening, spend precious, precious time with my almost one-year –old (WHAT?!), dinner-bath-bottle-bed (with snuggles in-between). Then I go facetime my hubby, watch an episode of House, and welcome sweet sleep. Life is far from mundane and I’m loving it, but I don’t have much time to do “other” stuff. So. My heart needs a good sit-down. Thank you for sharing the coffee, friend.

If we were having coffee right now, I’d tell you I can’t believe my baby is almost a toddler. Almost one. Almost walking. It shocks me. He loves smushing his face on me, whether it be in my lap when we’re playing on the floor or in my shoulder while I’m carrying him. I wrap those moments up tightly and don’t plan on every letting them go. He “drives” everything. Books, balls, measuring cups, giraffes, etc. He grasps it in his chubby right hand and pushes it with him wherever he goes. He is, certainly, a boy.

I’d tell you I hate maternity clothes. Especially maternity jeans. The elastic goes up so high and squeezes my belly (no it’s not too tight, my skin just gets REALLY sensitive while pregnant. Even really light pressure drives me crazy.) and makes me miserable. I am really excited to be able to wear yoga pants as much as possible once we move and I don’t have to go into an office anymore.

And speaking of not going into an office – I am in awe of God’s blessings right now. IN AWE. Connor and I just got accepted into a condo yesterday. A condo that is both in a safe neighborhood and the exact right price that I shouldn’t need to work. I may take on part-time employment to help make extra payments on things, but I don’t HAVE TO. I can be a “home manager” and mommy. My absolute DREAM!!! While I cannot express the sadness I feel at putting ten hours between my parents and us (that sounds wrong…parents and us? Us and them? We? Hmm…), I also cannot deny God’s hand in these events. If we were having coffee, I’d be gushing right now. J

If we were having coffee, I would probably regret ordering sugary drink because it always sounds sooo good, but one sip in and I’m wishing for a plain latte. Silly girl.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you I have an impressive list of fears for the move and transition. Finding a new doctor and hospital, unpacking, finding a pediatrician I love, feeding Noah well-balanced meals, keeping my house clean, managing our new budget, and oh my word I could go on for hours. BUT THEN I’d tell you that I cannot justify holding onto those fears any longer. God has provided perfectly already. PERFECTLY. I have no needs. I have only a heart of thanks. God’s timing is not my own. And it’s better than mine ever could be.

After talking nonstop for an hour, I would realize I hadn’t even asked about you yet! I would ask you how you are. What’s firing you up right now? How are you and God? How is your heart? And I would love to sit there, sipping coffee and listening to you.

Tell me what you think...

