so much.

There is so much that I want to be. So much about myself that I want to improve upon and add too. I am so mentally aware of my shortcomings and even what I could do to overcome them. And yet, I do nothing. I wake up in the morning, go to work, come home, and spend the rest of my day eating dinner and watching tv alone or with my husband, depending on whether he works the night shift or not. Pathetic? Yes. And while I tell myself every day that these activities make me happy and filled and all that I have energy for…that is definitely not the case. Bible reading, quiet time, pleasure reading, exercise, and housekeeping are no where on my daily to do list. These are activities that build strength and quietness of soul. They should at the very least be ON my to do list. But instead of focusing on those life-bringing things I have attached myself to a limited and daily “get through” list. This is not who I want to be. It’s definitely not the kind of mother I want to be.

So…while it feels entirely too ambitious to compile a new daily schedule…it also feels necessary. If I really want to nurture my soul and live according to how my God asks me to live…I need to make a list, and I need to follow through with it. 

5:00am-5:30am Devotion and prayer 

5:30am-6:30am Prepare for work

6:30am-5:00pm Work (finish everything there, bring nothing home)

5:00pm-6:30pm Prepare/eat dinners 

6:30pm-7:00pm Walk in the park

7:00pm-8:30pm TV, reading, or cleaning time

8:30 Begin to head to bed

This is what I would LOVE for my day to look like. Blogging is a great accountability tool, whether people read it or not. I am going to utilize my blog this week to experiment with this new schedule. I’m doing it this week because Connor is off in Moab, Utah until Thursday to go mountain biking riding with friends. I NEEEED something to keep me busy while he’s gone. I am not a solitary creature. Without a person or task to keep me occupied, I unravel scary quick.

To kick off my week of soul health I have a wide open Sunday. Here is my to do list for today:

1. Deep clean bathroom (oh my word, does that need to be done.)

2. Laundry started

3. Dishes

4. Finish the grading left over from the school week

5. Do a quick grocery shopping trip for next weeks lunches

5. Fold laundry

6. Go to bed early :) 

 

“Be miserable. Or motivate yourself. Whatever has to be done, it’s always your choice.” Wayne Dyer

Oh! Quick side note: I had an AMAZING baby shower yesterday thanks to amazing friends. :)

Image

 

Backpack diaper bag!! UH-mazing!

Tell me what you think...

