One last long haul

Somehow, I have completed four years at Pepperdine University, walked across a stage, and obtained a diploma. Whaa?

This means that, yes, I FINALLY completed my thesis, washed my hands of it, and turned it in! Thank you God! It also means that I took my last final, cleaned our apartment’s refrigerator, said goodbye to so many dear friends, magically packed (which is always the most stressful part of the year for me) my clothes in two suitcases which flew home with me and my stuff into my grandparents van for me to pick up after Connor and I’s wedding, and celebrated graduation with my future husband and my amazing family that drove/flew in. SO many things happened in quick succession that I’m not entirely sure where I am at the moment. But I do know that I am thankful for my time at Pepperdine, that Connor and I said our last airport goodbye yesterday, and that God has purpose for this last long-distance time. I’m ready!!! God has been speaking to me a lot about honoring him with everything, and especially with my emotions. I have to submit everything to God, including all my frustration that I can’t be with my Fiance everyday, my sadness that during the graduation chaos I didn’t get to say goodbye to some of my best friends, and my excitement for marriage. I have let these circumstantial emotions affect my joy in Christ. My joy in Christ and His love should not be bound by my material settings but transcendent and ever strong.

Find rest, O my Soul, in God alone;

my hope comes from him.

He alone is my rock and my salvation;

he is my fortress, I will not be shaken.

My salvation and my honor depend on God;

he is my mighty rock, my refuge.

Trust in him at all times, O people;

pour out your hearts to him,

for God is our refuge.

PsalmΒ  62:5-8

I am so thankful God is here and He has been my strength and my protector while I was away at college. I pray that as Connor and I enter into the next stage of our waiting process that He continues to be our strength and our discernment. Connor and I both know that anything we commit to the Lord will succeed and glorify Him. Knowing this, and knowing the good and faithful nature of our God, we are so eager to continually lay our relationship at His feet and ask for His perfect guidance. God is so good. =)

Here are some pictures from the last week:

A celebratory picture after a celebratory lunch after turning our thesis’s in. =)

I love my family! We took a quick trip to the beach Saturday after graduation:

We were doing our “ab flexing faces.” Apparently everyone else missed the memo.

we took a bajillion pictures, only one of which has both of us off the ground, but this one is my personal favorite jumping picture. It’s just too awesomely awkward not to share. heh:

God willing, the goodbye we said after this trip will be our last. We are so ready for no more goodbyes.

So now, three days after graduation, I’m sitting in Wagner, SD, on my families couch, watching basketball with my family, and missing my man. He’s currently sitting in my aunt and uncles living room in Colorado Springs, CO and talking to my uncle about the fort they are going to build in their backyard. And of course we’re texting – trying to stay in contact as much as we can because we are each other’s other half. While we need to be physically long distance a little bit longer so that I can spend time with my family and he can bring home the bacon, we are never far from each other in heart and mind. God is faithful. The end of this season is in sight! So let’s power through these last 67 days!!

Oh, and since you were probably wondering, YES I am wearing my super cute romper (that I talked about in my last post) in some of these pictures.

Tell me what you think...

